How to connect to Ad Hoc networks using Tmobile G1 Android

moved to: http://hydtechblog.com/2009/09/14/how-to-connect-to-ad-hoc-networks-using-tmobile-g1-android/

13 Responses to “How to connect to Ad Hoc networks using Tmobile G1 Android”

  1. If you found this from my tutorial then you should have mentioned me in this post so people know who found this solution first.
    Good thing you mentioned how to edit files using ADB and another good thing is this ap_scan=2 thing which i totally forget to mention in my post.

  2. Great tutorial. I have the following problem on a G1 with modded Rogers rom . I connect to the created network but I don’t have an actual internet connection. I tried all the troubleshooting steps and disabled firewalls on PC but browser and other apps say they don’t have internet connection. WiFi is connected full bars and so on. Can’t really see what’s the problem…

  3. Could you please upload the modded files so we could just use them? Not sure where to enter the commands and doing a search doesnt find “dot11DesiredSSID = HydtechAdhoc (or whatever name u want)”. Thanks

  4. do i delete all the other stuff and just enter the info above?

  5. hey I’m so glad to find a website here.
    My problem is, can I make share my VPN connection as an adhoc connection? if so, how can I do this?

  6. Hi,
    I did the exactly steps you stated on my G2 magic, but it doesn’t work.
    the SSID was showed but my G2 can not search out my IBM T60’s signal.

    Pls give some help. thanks in advance.

    • ap_scan=2 make sure it didnt get erased when you restarted.

    • Hi
      At start – sory for my english , i speak not good.
      Me and my friend have the same problem.
      I have HTC Hero and laptop (he have G1 and laptop)
      At first day this method (editing these two files) works perfectly.
      Next day when i turn on wi-fi in my HTC Hero… big problem.
      On phone I see my ad-hoc network on list but it still OUT OF RANGE.
      I try STATIC IP and nothing work.
      Other my phones (Nokia – Symbian) dont have any problem to connect to laptop.
      Any solutions ?
      Thanks 😉

      This is my wpa_supplicant.conf file:

      ctrl_interface=tiwlan0
      update_config=1
      eapol_version=2
      ap_scan=2
      fast_reauth=1

      network={
      ssid=”SIEC”
      scan_ssid=1
      mode=1
      key_mgmt=NONE
      auth_alg=SHARED
      }

      And this is tiwlan0.ini (not full of course):
      WiFiAdhoc = 1
      dot11DesiredSSID = SIEC
      dot11DesiredBSSType = 0

      • you have to reedit the file to include ap_scan=2 sometimes the wpa_supplicant gets reset. I am currently trying to figure out how to fix this.

  7. Сайт очень качественный. Награду бы Вам за него или просто орден почета. 😉

  8. fix computers hartford Says:

    I guess I’m gonna have to read up some more, but this was a pretty good place to start.

Leave a Reply

