How To connect to Remote Desktop from Windows to Ubuntu through G1 tether

From my previous post, you already know how to tether your G1 with your computer for internet use. I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now. It’s been kinda slow with my 9.99 tzones, so I am trying to decide if it would be worth it for me to upgrade to the G1 data plan and use EDGE speeds. I managed to forward the remote desktop on my Ubuntu Linux using NX and it is much faster than VNC. There is one problem if you are using the Tetherbot proxy (check my previous post), you can only use the Internet through a SOCKS v5 proxy, or use the port bouncer.

To use the port bouncer, enter in the server details and the port you are using, for example, I am using FreeNX so I would use port 22.
Start the Tunnel.
Connect the G1 to your PC.
Open the cmd prompt
Type in:
Windows: adb forward tcp:4444 localabstract:Tunnel
Linux/Mac: ./adb forward tcp:4444 localabstract:Tunnel
With the NX client, you would connect to localhost as the server and use port 4444.

Now, you should be able to access remote desktop through the G1.

One Response to “How To connect to Remote Desktop from Windows to Ubuntu through G1 tether”

  1. thanks.

Leave a Reply

