Connect Tether your laptop to the internet using the G1 as a modem

moved to http://hydtechblog.com/2009/02/12/connect-your-laptop-to-the-internet-using-the-g1-as-a-modem/

14 Responses to “Connect Tether your laptop to the internet using the G1 as a modem”

  1. […] you want to tether your laptop to use the internet from the G1 check my post here. Posted by hydtech Filed in Android, Linux (Ubuntu) Tagged: 5.99 tzones hack 9.99 […]

  2. great tutorial. thanks

  3. I’ve only used the wireless tethering because it allows you to VPN through the G1’s 3G connection and you don’t have to change your browser’s settings. There are a couple of free WiFi tether apps on the Android marketplace now that make the install and setup much easier than before too.

    • wifi tethering is better, but this is for those who do not have a wireless card or using this technique at work.

  4. What does “Unmount the sdcard” mean?

    I follow everything but that.

  5. OZ Amehd Says:

    i got an error message it says

    su: permission denied

  6. i’m running ubuntu on my desktop && am trying to use my g1 as my internet source.

    i have had zero luck.

    i don’t have root access && am currently running cupcake.

    how do i make it work ??

  7. I currently have a laptop w/ a wireless card built in. i wanted to tether my G1 to my laptop. i have the data plan. whats the best and easiest way to do this, im kinda lost on what all the options u have listed are. do i use the blutooth or do i have to get root access????

  8. Roulette-Biering Says:

    Hey, ok, I get it, I guess – but does this really work?

  9. To all having trouble just first option… It’s fairly easy to set up and works really well

Leave a Reply

